By law, all dogs in the state of Ohio (three months and older) must be licensed by January 31st of each year, or within 30 days of bringing a new dog home (ORC 955.01). The licensing period runs from December 1st to January 31st. After this date, a late fee will incur.
Purchasing your Ohio dog license not only keeps you and your pet in compliance, it benefits you, your dog and the community. Dog licenses are the primary identification for your dog. Being licensed will help us reunite if they are ever lost! Not only will your dog be safer, you’ll also play an important part in funding our critical mission. The revenue of dog license sales fund the animal shelter.
You can purchase a license at the shelter or purchase online through the Brown County Auditor’s website.
The American Humane Association states that about 22 percent of lost dogs that entered an animal shelter were reunited with their families. But the return-to-owner rate for microchipped dogs was over 52 percent!
Microchipping is an easy and long-lasting way to ensure the identification of your dog when scanned. If you would like your pet microchipped, the Brown County Humane Society can offer that service for $15.00 for dogs/cats adopted from the Brown County Humane Society and $25.00 for all other pets. Please contact the shelter if you would like to have your pet microchipped.
If a missing pet is found, we will scan to see if our furry friend has a microchip. If a microchip is found, we will call the owner and they can be reunited.